So it’s been a week or so since I’ve written, but in my defense, things have been busy. Thanksgiving was suitably filled with turkey, pie, and excessive amounts of family, like every good holiday should be.  Elissa’s entire family is in Ohio, about 2 hrs west of Pittsburgh (where my entire family is), and so holidays have become a balancing act of rushing around and jaunting across state lines.

It’s not so bad, though, at least we get to see everyone and we don’t have to fly anywhere. 

I was just about ready to get on here and say that work is actually okay.  I’m participating in the office Secret Santa, which is markedly unlike me, but I’m trying to make friends instead of just moping quietly in my corner cubicle about how much I miss my old friends.  I still miss my old friends, obviously, but I’m now at a point where I talk to some people and they seem to think I’m okay.  Whoever got me in the Secret Santa was totally stumped, though, and asked one of my teammates what he knows about me.  I told him to say that I like coffee and chocolate, because I’m apparently Cathy from the comic Cathy.  But really, I just want someone to give me coffee and chocolate.

 

Anyway, today started off okay, and ended up in the shitty column, because the owner told my boss that he doesn’t think I do enough work on a daily basis.  This makes me blind with rage because:

a: the productivity metrics of my job are so non-existent that I don’t know how he could possibly have enough information to make that assessment.  Maybe he saw me looking at the internet once?  Doesn’t he know that millennials can check Young House Love and still get their work done?  It’s how we’re wired, for God’s sake.

b: Maybe I have been slacking off, but my job is incredibly monotonous and it seems like I go weeks without anyone noticing if I’m even sitting there, and so it’s frustrating when people only notice when they deem me underproductive.

c: The guy’s a douchebag, so I’m mad that I’m even mad about his opinion.  I’ve been working since I was 16, and anyone who’s ever worked with me will tell you that even though I look at the internet, and I sometimes sleep late, I am a hard worker.  I do everything that is required of me, and I am smart.  Way smarter than the requirements of this job, honestly. 

I’m just frustrated today.  Tomorrow might be better.  The job search soldiers on, but I’m not sure how likely I am to get a new job 3 weeks before Christmas.  

We’ve done some things on the DIY front, so the week hasn’t been a total loss.  More to come on that.

